Diocese of Libombos (Lebombo)



Covering the Mozambican province of Maputo. A part of the former Diocese of Lebombo.

In the Province of the Anglican Church of Mozambique and Angola (Igreja Anglicana de Mocambique e Angola, or IAMA).

Bishop of Libombos: The Rt. Revd. Carlos Matsinhe

Bishop’s and Diocesan Office:

CP 120, Maputo, Mozambique.

(+258) 21404885 and (+258) 21405364


ALMA Link Officer: Ivan Macie

Diocesan Administrator: Elves Lucas Gumete

Mothers’ Union President: Joana Chilengue

Seminary Rector: Rev. António Nhaca

Anglican Social Action (ASA): Rev. Mauricio Salomao Mugunhe

Ministry to the Aged: Rev. Manuel Fernando Cumbe

Bishop’s Commissary in the UK: Revd. Sheenagh Burrell, ✉

About Bishop Carlos

Bishop Carlos Matsinhe

Bishop Carlos Simão Matsinhe was consecrated Bishop of Lebombo on 28 September 2014. He is the 11th Bishop of Lebombo, and the second bishop to be Mozambican-born

He was previously the Dean of Maciene Cathedral, and before that a priest in the parish of SS. Stephen and Lawrence, Maxaquene.

Fr Carlos Simao Matsinhe was born on 2 October 1954 in the Homoine District of Cambane, region in Inhambane Province. His Primary education was in a Roman Catholic missionary school in Homoine. He completed Secondary education in 1974 at Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception College in Inhambane.

In January 1975 he entered theological education in the Anglican Seminary of St Mark in Dar-es-Salaam in Tanzania. He gained a diploma in theology from the University of Makerere, Kampala Uganda. In January 1980 he was ordained priest in the Diocese of Lebombo within the Anglican Communion in Mozambique.

He took on the formal role of Dean in the Cathedral Church of St Augustine in Maciene in Gaza Province. He also had responsibility for Education, Community Health and Development Projects in the Diocese.

He is married to Hortencia Samuel and they have five children.

Map of Lebombo Diocese

Some key facts about the diocese

  • The diocese was founded in 1893. In 1980, the northern part of Mozambique became the Diocese of Niassa, leaving the six southern provinces in Lebombo. In 2021, the diocese was further divided, leaving just the province of Maputo.
  • Bishop Carlos Matsinhe was consecrated Bishop in 2014.
  • St Christopher’s Anglican Seminary in Maputo serves both Mozambique and Angola.

The Links between Libombos and London

See more about the links between parishes in Lebombo and London …

Parishes and Staff

Ecclesiastical District of Maputo

Archdeacon Ven. Rogério Simione
St. Stephen & St. Lawrence of Maxaquene Rev. Benedito Mahumane
(asst) Rev. Carlos Respeito
St. Peter & St. Paul of Thlabane Ven. Rogério Simione
Pastoral Zone of Epiphany, Laulane Rev. Ismael Arquiel Nhabinde
Pastoral Zone of SS. Philip and James, Mavalane Rev. Lina dos Santos Tchonga
St. Cyprian, Chamanculo (asst) Rev. Alda C Nhabinde
Pastoral Zone of St. John the Evangelist, Infulene Rev. Cláudio Monica Chitsondzo
St. Barnabas, Mahotas-Bagamoyo Rev. Mauricio Mugunhe
Pastoral Zone of Good Samaritan, Zimpeto Rev. Antonio Aida Nhaca
Pastoral Zone of St. Mary, Salamanga-Matutuine Rev. Manuel Bassopa
Pastoral Zone of Holy Family, Boquisso Rev. Vasco Davane
Pastoral Zone St. James, Choupal Rev. Amilcar Paulo Jotamo
(asst) Rev. Joana Chilengue
St. Monica, Mahlazine Rev. Edilson Esteira
Pastoral Zone of St. Mary Magdalene Rev. Silva Mazive
Pastoral Zone of St. Benedict, Malhangalene Rev. Tomas Alfeu Zandamela
Pastoral Zone St. Matthew Cumbeza Rev. Luis Silvestre Zandamela

Ecclesiastical District of Umbeluzi

Archdeacon Ven. Machado Sansão Nhumpulo
St. Mark, Matola Ven. Machado Sansão Nhumpulo
(ass)Rev. Deac. Mércio Langa
Pastoral Zone of St Mary, Liqueleva Rev.Victor Zacarias
Pastoral Zone of St. Andrew, Namaacha Rev. José Júlio Manjate
St. Stephen, Cidade da Matola Rev. Felix Macane
Pastoral Zone of St. Mary, Trevo Rev. David Geraldo
(ass) Rev. Deac. Josefina S Mhlope
Pastoral Zone of St John the Evangelist, Km 16 Emeritus Bp. Dinis Salamão Sengulane
(ass)Rev. Juan Ramirez Rubio
Pastoral Zone of St. Batholomew, Machava, Km 18 Rev. David Geraldo