Diocese of London


The Diocese of London covers 277 square miles of Greater London north of the River Thames, serving a population of 3.6 million.
The cathedral is St Paul’s Cathedral.

The Bishop of London is the third most senior bishop, after the Archbishops of Canterbury and York.

The Diocese of London is made up of five areas, four of which have an area bishop.

(More facts below)

Bishop of London - Bishop Sarah Mullally

Sarah Mullally

The Bishop of London is the Rt Revd and Rt Hon Dame Sarah Mullally DBE. She is the 133rd Bishop of London, and was installed on 12 May 2018.

Read more …

‘Bishop for ALMA’ - Bishop Rob Wickham

Rob Wickham

The Bishop of Edmonton, Bishop Rob Wickham, is the Diocese of London’s ‘Bishop for ALMA’, and the chair of the ALMA Strategy Group. He was appointed to this position in March 2016, having been consecrated Bishop of Edmonton in September 2015.

Read more …

Archdeacon John Hawkins

John Hawkins

The Archdeacon of Hampstead, the Venerable John Hawkins, is the vice-chair of the ALMA Strategy Group and chair of the Finance and Projects sub-group. He was appointed to these positions in March 2016.

Read more …

ALMA Strategy Group

ALMA activities in the Diocese are controlled by the ALMA Strategy Group.

The Chair of the Strategy Group is Bishop Rob Wickham, Bishop of Edmonton.

Day-to-day activities are organised by the ALMA Co-ordinator and other officers.

Facts about the Diocese

Churches around the Diocese operate over 1000 community ministry activities aided by over 10,000 volunteers, benefiting over 700,000 Londoners. These projects include work with children, youth and families, homeless people, the elderly and those experiencing problems with health or addiction.

In addition, there are thousands of groups working with countless community-based activities take place all across the Diocese, such as mother and toddler groups, youth clubs and Guides and Scouts groups.